Directors & Management

Mr. Dean Taylor

Chief Executive Officer

Originally an architect, Dean established Wine Ark in 2000 a climate-controlled storage business managing over $200m of wine around the country.

In 2003 he launched Wine Exchange an online wine trading platform and TheCellar Club an ultra premium wine club, which were acquired by Cellarmasters in 2009.

In 2010 he founded Cracka Wines a direct-to-consumer marketplace that became one of Australia’s top 50 online retailers. Catering for niche market segments, he also launched Winegrowers Direct and My Wine Guy, before merging those businesses with The Wine Society to form The Wine Collective.

Not one to sit on his laurels, he’s now running Wine Depot, a B2B wine trading & logistics platform acquired by DW8 in April 2019.

Named in 50 Stars of Wine and Top 50 People in Ecommerce, he’s highly regarded within the wine and online retail communities. His ventures have all been disruptive with a strong technology focus, putting him in an ideal position to lead DW8.

Mr. Piers Lewis

Non Executive Chairman

Mr Lewis is a wine enthusiast that has 20 years “hands on” experience in M&A, corporate governance and financial management of various corporations in Australia, Europe and Asia.

Mr Lewis has worked in management and senior roles for multinational financial institutions across Europe, the USA and Asia including Credit Suisse, ABN Amro, Royal Bank of Scotland and the National Australia Bank.

IIn 2011, Mr Lewis founded SmallCap Corporate. A corporate advisory services company based in Subiaco. Today SmallCap Corporate provides corporate advisory services for more than a dozen ASX listed and public unlisted clients. Mr Lewis is a member of the institute of charted accountants of Australia, a member of the corporate governance institute and holds a bachelor of commerce from the University of Western Australia.

Mr. James Walker

Non Executive Director

James holds a bachelor of commerce from the University of New South Wales, is a fellow of the Chartered Accountants of Australian and New Zealand (FCA) and is a Graduate Member of The Australian Institute of Company Directors (GAICD).

James is a seasoned executive, with a track record in successfully commercialising cutting-edge technology in emerging markets. He has headed a number of Australian and international technology companies, including as Chief Executive Officer of DroneShield (ASX:DRO), Chief Financial Officer of Seeing Machines (AIM: SEE) and held leadership positions in a number of growth technology companies.

Mr Walker is currently the Non-Executive Chairman of thedocyard, a Non-Executive Director at Bluglass (ASX:BLG) and the Chief Financial Officer of Douugh, an AI based Fintech.

Mr. Arron Canicais

Company Secretary & CFO

Mr Canicais is a corporate advisory executive of SmallCap Corporate Pty Ltd, which specialises in corporate advice and compliance administration to public companies. Mr Canicais has been involved in financial reporting and corporate compliance for over 12 years. Mr Canicais is an associate member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants and Governance Institute of Australia. Mr Canicais is currently also Company Secretary for the following ASX listed entities: Cycliq Group Limited, Entek Energy Limited, Lion Energy Limited and various unlisted entities. Mr Canicais is currently also the CFO for half a dozen various ASX listed and unlisted entities.

Mr. Davide Defendi

Chief Technology Officer

Davide is a leader and entrepreneur, experienced in advancing companies from inception through to sale, across several industries.

Originally a certified software engineer it wasn’t long before Davide was looking to disrupt traditional business through innovative technology. From a start-up perspective Davide has been involved with/founded two digital agencies, a technology recycling & service business, an instant messaging business similar to WhatsApp with user growth of more than 15 million users and an IOT based enterprise.

He’s sold technology to and served on the board of both public ASX listed and private companies. He has a proven ability to manage all aspects of business; including negotiating multi-million dollar customer contracts; leading dynamic, multi-functional teams and organisations; and executing innovative strategies to create and deliver value.

Corporate Directory

Registered and Principal Office

Suite 8H, 325 Pitt street • Sydney • 2000

Share Register

Advanced Share Registry Services

110 Stirling Highway,
Nedlands Western Australia 6009

Telephone: (08) 9389 8033
Facsimile: (08) 9262 3723


Bentleys Audit & Corporate (WA) Pty Ltd

Level 3, 216 St Georges Terrace,
Perth WA 6000

Telephone: (08) 9226 4500



Level 19, Alluvion
58 Mounts Bay Rd
Perth WA 6000

Securities Exchange

Australian Securities Exchange Limited (ASX)

Home Exchange – Perth

ASX Code – DW8 (Ordinary Shares)

Corporate Governance

Download the Corporate Governance document below

Corporate Governance Plan

get in touch